Best States for a CPA License as an International Student: SSN, Citizenship and Experience Rules
Old forum lists say some states license only citizens. The boards' own pages say otherwise, and the gap decides where an F-1, OPT or H-1B candidate should sit.

There is no single best state for a CPA license as an international student. The best state is the one whose board accepts the documents you hold today and whose experience rule fits the job you can actually get. As of November 1, 2026, the boards' own websites show three things F-1, OPT and H-1B candidates most need to know. Virginia requires a US Social Security number (or a Virginia DMV control number) to sit for the exam and to be licensed. California licenses with an SSN or an ITIN. North Carolina and Alabama, often called "citizens only" online, accept some non-citizens.
Status line, as of 2026-11-01. State rules below are as each board's website showed them on 2026-11-01. Alabama's summary is headed "Proposed rule changes - effective October 15, 2026"; its lawful-presence rule rests on state statute, but confirm the pathway changes with the board. Scheduled: New York's 120-semester-hour plus two-year pathway starts November 21, 2026, and its current 150-hour pathway phases out on August 1, 2027, replaced by a revised "CPA Evolution" 150-hour pathway. In effect: wage-weighted H-1B selection, since 2026-02-27. Not announced: the FY2028 registration window.
Best states for CPA international students: the short answer
The best states for CPA international students are the ones whose boards accept the documents you hold now. As of November 1, 2026, Virginia requires an SSN or a Virginia DMV control number, California licenses with an SSN or an ITIN, North Carolina and Alabama accept some non-citizens, and New York and Washington turn mainly on who verifies your experience.
- You already have an SSN (usually through OPT, STEM OPT or H-1B work authorization): Virginia's rule is met, and Alabama's "legally present" wording covers someone in valid status (our reading). North Carolina still asks a non-citizen for a green card or a notarized statement of intent to become a citizen.
- You have an ITIN but no SSN: California's licensing rule accepts an ITIN. Virginia's does not.
- You have neither yet: the exam application is the first hurdle. Ask the board or its exam processor in writing whether you can sit without one, and keep the reply.
Two more facts shape the choice. The exam is national. North Carolina's board puts it plainly: of the three requirements, "only the Exam is uniform," while "education and experience requirements vary among jurisdictions" (NC State Board of CPA Examiners). And the license state and the work state can differ, so you are choosing paperwork, not a city.
CPA board rules we checked, state by state
What six boards publish about SSNs, citizenship and experience, read on their own sites rather than in review-course summaries or forum threads.
CPA board rules for international candidates (as of 2026-11, read on board websites 2026-11-01)
| State | To sit for the exam | To get licensed | Experience rule (headline) | Fits best if |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virginia | US SSN or Virginia DMV control number required | Same; without one you are "not eligible" | 1 year (Pathways 1 and 2) or 2 years (Pathway 3), verified by an actively licensed US CPA | You already hold an SSN |
| California | Not stated on the SSN/ITIN page we read; check the exam application | SSN or ITIN (Business and Professions Code section 30); one year to supply it once all else is met | 1 year under the supervision, or in the employ, of an active licensee; non-public work under a US-licensed CPA | You have an ITIN but no SSN yet |
| North Carolina | Citizen, declared intent to become one, resident alien, or citizen of a reciprocal jurisdiction; SSN listed among items to have ready | Same categories; SSN on the application checklist | 1 year (150 hours or master's) or 2 years (bachelor's) under a CPA licensed in any US state, or 4 years without CPA supervision | You hold a green card, or an attorney has cleared the intent statement |
| Alabama | Citizen or "legally present in the United States" | Same; state law requires proof of lawful presence | Bachelor's route 2 years; master's or bachelor's + 30 hours route 1 year (summary labelled proposed, effective 2026-10-15) | You are in the US in lawful status |
| New York | Through NASBA's CPA Examination Services; no SSN or citizenship line on the pages we read | Good moral character, age 21+, education, exam, experience | 1 year (150 hours) or 2 years (120 hours, from 2026-11-21) under a US CPA at the same organization, for US clients or employers | Your supervisor is a US CPA at your own employer |
| Washington | Through CPA Examination Services; no SSN or citizenship line on the pages we read | Education, exam and experience, plus an AICPA ethics course and exam | Bachelor's + 2 years (Option A), or master's (Option B) or bachelor's + 30 hours (Option C) + 1 year; verified by a qualifying CPA | Your supervisor is not a CPA, but a qualifying CPA can verify your work |
Sources: Virginia Board of Accountancy, California Board of Accountancy SSN/ITIN rule, NC exam and license requirements, Alabama eligibility summary, NYSED 120-hour pathway, Washington first-license requirements. A blank line on a page is not a promise. "Not stated" means we did not see it, so email the board or its exam processor before you pay a fee.
Texas, Florida, Pennsylvania and New Jersey, home to several Big Four petitioning addresses, are not in the table because we could not confirm their rules on a primary page. Check those boards directly.
Can you get a CPA license without an SSN?
Sometimes. Virginia says no: "Applicants without a U.S. SSN or control number issued by the Virginia DMV are not eligible for a Virginia CPA license" (Virginia Board of Accountancy), and its exam application page asks exam candidates for the same number. California says yes with an ITIN: when every other requirement is met, the board gives you one year to provide an SSN or ITIN before the application is treated as abandoned (California Board of Accountancy).
Where a board's page is silent, the forms may not be. New York's online Form 1 asks for your SSN to resume a saved application, while its Form 4B tells the supervisor to leave the SSN field blank if you do not have a US Social Security number (NYSED licensure forms, Form 4B). That points to a path without one, but ask NYSED how it handles your case before you file.
How an F-1 student usually gets an SSN
You generally get an SSN once you have work authorization. For OPT, apply at the Social Security Administration on or after your EAD start date, because SSA will not process an application with a future start date. Our guide to getting an SSN on OPT walks through the visit. An ITIN is a different number. The IRS issues it for federal tax purposes only, it carries no work authorization, and you qualify only with "a federal tax purpose" while "not eligible for an SSN." Form W-7 takes about seven weeks (nine to eleven in peak season or from abroad). So California's ITIN route mainly helps candidates who cannot yet get an SSN; see our ITIN application guide, and ask a tax professional who handles nonresident returns whether you have a qualifying tax purpose.
The federal one-year H-1B provision for missing SSNs
Federal regulation has a narrow fix for the license-SSN loop. Under 8 CFR 214.2(h)(4)(v)(C)(2), USCIS may approve an H-1B petition "for a period of up to 1 year" if "the license would otherwise be issued provided the alien was in possession of a valid Social Security number" (8 CFR 214.2, Cornell LII text). The employer must show, with evidence from the licensing authority, that the SSN (or a similar technical requirement) is the only obstacle and that you meet every other requirement. It matters only where the job legally requires a license, which the H-1B section below explains.
Do some states require US citizenship for a CPA license?
Not the two states forums usually name.
Common misconception: "North Carolina and Alabama license only US citizens."
What the boards say (read 2026-11-01): North Carolina accepts candidates who "are a citizen of the United States, or declare their intention to become a citizen, are a resident alien, or a citizen of a foreign jurisdiction that extends like or similar privileges" (NC license page). Alabama requires that an applicant be "a citizen of the United States or legally present in the United States," for both the exam and certification (Alabama summary, revised 2026-05-08).
Read the details before you rely on either. North Carolina asks non-citizens to upload proof of resident alien status (for example a green card) or a notarized statement of intent to become a US citizen, on the board's template. F-1 is a nonimmigrant status, so show that statement to an immigration attorney before you sign it, especially if a visa interview is coming. H-1B is a different status, and the attorney's answer may differ too. Alabama's immigration-law page points to Sections 31-13-7 and 31-13-29 of the Code of Alabama, which require license applicants to show citizenship or lawful presence. The board provides a separate non-citizen form.
Experience: the CPA rule that matters most on OPT
For most international candidates the exam is not the bottleneck. The experience rule is, because it ties your license to who supervises you, and your OPT clock limits how long you can collect hours.
- New York: experience "under the supervision of a U.S. certified public accountant" at the same organization, who mails Form 4B directly to NYSED. Form 4B accepts full-time-equated work "performed for U.S. clients and employers" (a full-time week is 35-40 hours; part-time weeks of 20+ hours count at half), and other work needs extra documentation from the supervisor. New York also reviews foreign degrees itself and does not accept outside evaluators such as NIES or WES (NYSED 120-hour pathway, Form 4B).
- California: one year of general experience under the supervision of, or in the employ of, an active licensee. Non-public experience must be supervised by a US-licensed CPA (CBA experience page).
- Washington: experience in public accounting, industry or government, paid or unpaid, verified by a CPA with an active US license who has held a license for at least five years. The applicant brings the affidavit to "a qualified verifying CPA of their choice" (Washington Board of Accountancy).
- North Carolina: one or two years under the direct supervision of a CPA licensed in any US state, or four years of accounting experience without CPA supervision.
The bachelor's plus two years routes (North Carolina's Pathway 3, Washington's Option A, Alabama's Pathway 1, and New York's from 2026-11-21) help a candidate without 150 credit hours, but two years of work is more than a 12-month OPT covers. None of the experience pages we read mentions visa type. They look at duties, hours and the verifier; the work itself must be authorized under CPT, OPT, STEM OPT or H-1B. If your employer cannot give you a qualifying supervisor or verifier, compare regional firms that sponsor before you bank a year of hours that may not count.
Can you sit for the CPA in one state and work in another on H-1B?
Yes. Your H-1B worksite comes from your employer's petition and Labor Condition Application, not from your license. Whether you can practise as a CPA across state lines is a separate question, answered by each state's practice-privilege rules. NASBA's CPA Mobility tool summarises them, with a warning that NASBA "cannot guarantee a mobility outcome." If you later move your main office to another state, check whether you will need that state's license.
The Big Four hub cities are mailing addresses, not your office
Students often pick a state because a firm's H-1B data shows a city. The USCIS data hub's city field is "the City indicated in the mailing address of the employer and is not necessarily the beneficiary(ies) work location" (USCIS, Understanding Our H-1B Employer Data Hub). In the USCIS Employer Data Hub extract we use, the H-1B petition decisions recorded for FY2024 through a partial FY2026, combined, are:
| Petitioning entity (Hub mailing address) | H-1B petition decisions, FY2024 to partial FY2026 |
|---|---|
| Deloitte Consulting LLP (Philadelphia, PA) | 5,203 |
| Ernst Young US LLP (Secaucus, NJ) | 2,848 |
| Ernst and Young U S LLP (Secaucus, NJ) | 2,023 |
| PwC Advisory Services LLC (Tampa, FL), plus separate PwC tax and consulting entities | 1,937 |
| KPMG LLP (Dallas, TX) | 945 |
These figures show which entities petition, not where their staff sit or your odds. Several firms also petition through separate audit and tax entities, such as Deloitte & Touche LLP, Deloitte Tax LLP and PwC US Tax LLP, so check the entity that will actually employ you. Treat Philadelphia or Tampa as a filing address, and choose your license state around the office where you will work. For how each firm sponsors, read our Big Four H-1B sponsorship landscape.
Hiring is not uniform either. In the Federal Reserve's October 14, 2026 Beige Book report for the Dallas District, "one accounting contact noted that some large accounting firms are delaying new employment contracts because they may not need as many entry-level employees as initially anticipated, partly due to efficiency gains from AI." That is one anecdote with no counts, not a trend.
Does a CPA license help an H-1B petition?
Not in the lottery. Since 2026-02-27, wage-weighted selection gives a registration more entries the higher the offered wage level, from one entry at Level I to four at Level IV. A license adds no weight by itself; the offered wage does. Our explainer on how wage levels change your odds shows the math.
After selection, the question changes. Under 8 CFR 214.2(h)(4)(v)(A), if an occupation requires a state license "to fully perform the duties," the beneficiary must have that license before the petition is approved. Paragraph (C)(1) covers occupations a state lets unlicensed people practise under licensed supervisors, and (C)(2) is the one-year SSN exception above. Where the job does not legally require a license, a CPA is a credential, not a petition requirement. Our accounting and CPA H-1B guide covers the specialty-occupation side. A license guarantees nothing. Which paragraph fits your role, and what the petition should contain, are for the employer and its immigration attorney.
A worked timeline: your license clock and your visa clock
Say you finished a master's in accounting in May 2026 and began 12 months of OPT on 2026-07-06 at a firm's audit practice.
| Date | License clock | Visa clock |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-07-06 | Supervised experience starts | OPT EAD starts; apply for an SSN on or after this date |
| 2026-11-21 | New York's 120 hours + 2 years pathway begins (scheduled) | No change |
| Spring 2027 (expected) | Keep passing sections; Virginia, for example, requires all sections within 30 months of the first passed section's score release | FY2028 H-1B registration; not announced, and USCIS must give at least 30 days' notice |
| 2027-05-01 | New York asks applicants on its current 150-hour pathway to submit materials by this date | No change |
| 2027-07-05 | One year of experience done, enough for a master's + 1 year route (Washington Option B, North Carolina Pathway 2) if all of it qualifies | 12-month OPT ends; ask your DSO about STEM OPT eligibility and what applies before any October H-1B start |
| 2027-08-01 | New York's current 150-hour pathway phases out; the revised "CPA Evolution" 150-hour pathway applies | No change |
| 2027-10-01 | Apply for the license where your verifier and office fit | Earliest FY2028 H-1B start, if selected and approved |
The pattern to notice: a master's degree plus one year fits inside one year of OPT. A bachelor's plus two years does not, unless STEM OPT or an H-1B carries you through the second year.
How to choose your CPA state, step by step
- Confirm your status documents with your DSO: your I-20, your EAD dates, and whether your degree's CIP code qualifies for STEM OPT.
- Ask your manager, before you start, whether a licensed US CPA will supervise or verify your hours, and in which state that CPA is licensed.
- Read the exam and license pages of two or three candidate boards for the words "Social Security," "citizen" and "lawfully present," and save a dated screenshot.
- Check whether your board wants a NASBA International Evaluation Services (NIES) report for any degree earned outside the US. New York does not accept outside evaluators and reviews foreign education itself.
- Apply to sit through the board's portal or NASBA's CPA Examination Services, then schedule each section with Prometric after your Notice to Schedule arrives.
- File the experience form your board requires, such as New York's Form 4B or Washington's Experience Affidavit, signed by the right CPA.
- Check NASBA's CPA Mobility tool before you serve clients in another state, and talk to your employer's immigration attorney before any change in worksite.
Common mistakes
- Choosing a state from an old forum thread. The "North Carolina and Alabama are citizens-only" lists do not match the boards' pages as of 2026-11-01.
- Reading a Hub city as your office. Tampa, Philadelphia and Secaucus are mailing addresses on the petition, per USCIS's own glossary.
- Signing an intent-to-naturalize statement on F-1 without advice. Get an immigration attorney's view first.
- Banking hours under a non-CPA supervisor in a state that requires CPA supervision, then finding a year does not count.
- Assuming offshore or non-US client work counts in New York. Form 4B credits work "performed for U.S. clients and employers" and asks for extra documentation otherwise.
- Assuming a CPA raises your lottery odds. Selection weight follows the offered wage level.
- Forgetting the 2027 cutoffs in New York if you are on its current 150-hour pathway.
Frequently asked questions
Which state is best for the CPA exam for international students?
No single state is best. As of November 1, 2026, pick the state whose board accepts the documents you hold and whose experience rule fits your job. Virginia requires an SSN or a Virginia DMV control number to sit. Washington and New York show no SSN or citizenship requirement on the licensing pages we read, but that is not a written waiver, so ask the board before you pay.
Can I get a CPA license without an SSN?
It depends on the state. As of November 1, 2026, Virginia says applicants without a US SSN or a Virginia DMV control number are not eligible, while California accepts an SSN or ITIN and gives a fully qualified applicant one year to supply one. Federal rule 8 CFR 214.2(h)(4)(v)(C)(2) separately allows an H-1B approval of up to one year when a missing SSN is the only obstacle to a required license.
Do some states require US citizenship for a CPA license?
Not in the two states forums usually name. As read on November 1, 2026, North Carolina accepts citizens, people who declare intent to become citizens, resident aliens and citizens of reciprocal jurisdictions, and asks non-citizens for a green card or a notarized statement of intent. Alabama accepts citizens and people legally present in the US. Check the board's page on the day you apply.
Can I sit for the CPA in one state and work in another on H-1B?
Yes. The exam is uniform, and your license state need not match your work state. Your H-1B worksite comes from the petition and Labor Condition Application. Practising in another state depends on its mobility rules, summarised in NASBA's CPA Mobility tool.
Does a CPA license help an H-1B petition?
Not with lottery odds. Since February 27, 2026, wage-weighted selection gives more entries to higher offered wage levels, and a license adds no weight. After selection, a license matters mainly when the job legally requires one; federal rules then generally expect you to hold it before approval, with exceptions for supervised practice and a missing SSN. Your employer's immigration attorney decides whether your role requires one.
Sources
- Virginia Board of Accountancy, initial license and exam application
- California Board of Accountancy, SSN/ITIN requirement and experience requirements
- NC State Board of CPA Examiners, exam applicants and license applicants
- Alabama State Board of Public Accountancy, eligibility summary and immigration laws
- NYSED Office of the Professions, initial license, 120-hour, two-year pathway, licensure forms and Form 4B instructions
- Washington State Board of Accountancy, first CPA license and experience
- 8 CFR 214.2(h)(4)(v), licensure for H classification
- USCIS, Understanding Our H-1B Employer Data Hub and H-1B electronic registration
- Federal Register, weighted H-1B selection final rule
- NASBA CPA Mobility and NASBA International Evaluation Services
- Federal Reserve Beige Book, October 2026, Dallas District
- IRS, ITIN
How we checked this: we read each board's own exam, license and experience pages (and New York's Form 4B instructions), the text of 8 CFR 214.2(h)(4)(v), USCIS's data-hub glossary and the Dallas District Beige Book report on November 1, 2026, and we took employer counts from the USCIS H-1B Employer Data Hub extract this site uses.
This is general information, not legal or tax advice; your own I-20, EAD, I-797 and the board's current rules govern, so confirm F-1 and OPT questions with your DSO, petition or status strategy with a licensed immigration attorney, and ITIN eligibility with a tax professional who handles nonresident returns.
If you are on OPT or STEM OPT and want help finding accounting employers whose sponsorship record and supervision structure fit your licensing plan, F1Jobs can help you run a focused, visa-aware search.
Frequently asked questions
Which state is best for the CPA exam for international students?
No single state is best for everyone. As of November 1, 2026, the right state is the one whose board accepts the documents you hold now and whose experience rule fits the job you can get. Virginia requires a US Social Security number or a Virginia DMV control number to sit, so it suits candidates who already have an SSN. Washington and New York show no SSN or citizenship requirement on the licensing pages we read, but that is not a written waiver, so ask the board before you pay a fee.
Can I get a CPA license without an SSN?
It depends on the state. As of November 1, 2026, Virginia says applicants without a US SSN or a Virginia DMV control number are not eligible for a license, while California accepts an SSN or an ITIN and gives a fully qualified applicant one year to provide one. Separately, federal rule 8 CFR 214.2(h)(4)(v)(C)(2) lets USCIS approve an H-1B for up to one year when a missing SSN is the only obstacle to a license the job requires.
Do some states require US citizenship for a CPA license?
Not in the two states forums usually name. As read on November 1, 2026, North Carolina accepts citizens, people who declare an intent to become citizens, resident aliens, and citizens of foreign jurisdictions that extend similar privileges, and it asks non-citizens for a green card or a notarized statement of intent. Alabama accepts citizens and people legally present in the United States. Check the board's page on the day you apply.
Can I sit for the CPA in one state and work in another on H-1B?
Yes. The Uniform CPA Exam is the same everywhere, and the state that licenses you does not have to be the state where you work. Your H-1B worksite is set by your employer's petition and Labor Condition Application, while practising as a CPA in another state depends on that state's mobility rules, which NASBA's CPA Mobility tool summarises.
Does a CPA license help an H-1B petition?
It does not change your lottery odds. Since February 27, 2026, wage-weighted selection gives more entries to higher offered wage levels, and a license adds no weight by itself. After selection, a license matters mainly when the job legally requires one, in which case federal rules generally expect you to hold it before approval, with exceptions for supervised practice and a missing SSN. Whether your role requires one is a question for your employer's immigration attorney.