Trump Accounts for Children of H-1B and F-1 Parents: Who Gets the $1,000 and What Parents Need
Treasury may have opened your baby's Trump Account on its own, but the $1,000 arrives only if a parent elects it, and your visa is not what decides who qualifies.

As of November 1, 2026, Trump Account eligibility for non-citizen parents comes down to your child, not your visa. Neither Treasury's temporary regulations nor the IRS instructions we read make a parent's H-1B, H-4, OPT or F-1 status a condition. A child under 18 with a Social Security number valid for employment can have an account, and a US-citizen child born from January 1, 2025 through December 31, 2028 can also get the one-time $1,000 pilot deposit. Treasury began opening accounts automatically on or about October 1, 2026, but the $1,000 arrives only if an eligible adult, usually a parent, elects it on Form 4547.
Status line (2026-11-01). In effect: the temporary Trump Account regulations (T.D. 10056, 91 FR 61705), effective 2026-09-30; automatic enrollment (from on or about 2026-10-01); and contributions (allowed since 2026-07-04). Proposed: companion regulations with the same text, plus separate proposals on the $1,000 pilot (REG-117002-25, 2026-03-09) and on employer contributions (REG-101355-26, 2026-08-11). Partly blocked: Executive Order 14418, the birthright follow-on order, enjoined for a certified class on 2026-09-02.
Trump account eligibility for non-citizen parents: the short answer
A Trump Account is a children's IRA created by the 2025 tax law. Any child under 18 with a Social Security number valid for employment can have one, whatever the parents' visa. The $1,000 pilot deposit adds two tests: the child must be a US citizen born 2025 through 2028, and an eligible adult must elect it on Form 4547.
Section 70204 of Public Law 119-21 (July 4, 2025) created them in section 530A of the tax code, so you may see them called 530A accounts. The temporary regulations require the child's SSN to be one "within the meaning of section 24(h)(7)" and issued before the election. That is the "work-eligible SSN" test (our reading), and it applies to the child. The Form 4547 instructions put it plainly: "If the child was a U.S. citizen when he or she received the SSN, the SSN is valid for employment."
Who gets what (as of 2026-11)
| Your child | Trump Account? | $1,000 pilot deposit? | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| US citizen born 2025-2028, SSN issued | Yes, opened automatically or by election | Yes, once an eligible adult elects it | Meets every pilot test |
| US citizen born 2009-2024, SSN issued | Yes, if not 18 by the end of the election year | No | Born outside the pilot window |
| Green-card holder, SSN valid for employment | Yes | No | Not a US citizen |
| H-4 or F-2 child | Only with an SSN valid for employment | No | Not a US citizen; a card marked "Not Valid for Employment" fails the Form 4547 test |
| Any child with only an ITIN | No | No | An ITIN is not an SSA-issued Social Security number |
| Newborn still waiting for an SSN | Not yet | Not yet | The SSN must be issued before the election |
Sources: the temporary regulations, the IRS Trump Accounts page (updated 2026-10-21) and the Form 4547 instructions, which add that a card printed "Valid for Work Only with DHS Authorization" counts only while that authorization lasts.
Is my US-born baby eligible for the $1,000 deposit?
Yes, if your baby is a US citizen, was born from January 1, 2025 through December 31, 2028, has an SSN, and has never had a pilot election processed. The adult who elects faces one more test: a tax test, not a visa test.
The September 30 regulations say that adult must anticipate the child "will be that individual's qualifying child under section 152(c) for the year in which the election is made." IRS Publication 501 explains the qualifying-child tests (relationship, age, residency, support and joint return). The Form 4547 instructions soften it: if the child later turns out not to be your qualifying child, the election "may still be effective as long as the child has satisfied the other requirements."
Nothing we found in the instructions or the regulations limits the elector to citizens or tax residents. The instructions tell a "nonresident or resident alien" without an SSN to enter an ITIN, and name Form 1040-NR alongside Form 1040, so nonresident filers do not appear to be shut out (our reading). If you file as a nonresident on F-1, or are in a dual-status year after a switch to H-1B, ask a tax professional who handles nonresident returns. Your DSO handles SEVIS and OPT, not this.
What about the birthright order?
Because the pilot requires a US citizen, families ask about EO 14418. Our birthright explainer for H-1B and F-1 parents has the detail; as of 2026-11-01:
- EO 14418, signed 2026-08-06 after Trump v. Barbara (2026-06-30), bars agencies, Social Security included, from issuing or accepting citizenship documents when neither parent is a citizen and a named category applies: a parent who is an "alien enemy" or a foreign-government or immunized international-organization employee, a purchased or fraudulent birth (commercial surrogacy in the US included), or a birth in certain territories.
- Ordinary H-1B, H-4, OPT and F-1 status is not among the named categories, but the order says it identifies its categories "non-exhaustively".
- It is partly blocked: a Maryland federal court enjoined the challenged provisions for a certified class on 2026-09-02 in CASA v. Trump (D. Md. 8:25-cv-00201), as Envoy Global reported.
If a parent's job or the birth arrangement could fit a named category, speak with a licensed immigration attorney before relying on the $1,000. We make no prediction about the litigation.
Do parents need an SSN to open a Trump Account?
Not for Form 4547. The instructions ask for the parent's SSN, then add: "If you are a nonresident or resident alien and you don't have and aren't eligible to get an SSN, enter your IRS individual taxpayer identification number." An H-4 or F-2 parent with no SSN can use an ITIN on the form.
The app is less clear. For claims, the IRS FAQ wants the details "you provide for yourself and your child," SSNs included, to match SSA records, and no IRS page we read says whether the app accepts an ITIN. If only one of you has an SSN, ask the help line (866-USA-4547) first.
If you have neither number, our guide to getting an ITIN when you don't have an SSN walks through Form W-7; the IRS ITIN page treats an ITIN as a tax number only, with no work authorization.
Common misconception: "Trump Accounts need a work-eligible SSN, so an H-4 spouse with an ITIN can't do anything." Correction: In the Trump Account rules, the work-eligible SSN test applies to the child. The child tax credit, since tax year 2025, needs one on the child and on the taxpayer or one spouse (see our child tax credit SSN rule explainer). Keep the two rules apart.
Which parent should be the one?
To open an account without a pilot election, the instructions rank "a legal guardian, parent, adult sibling, or grandparent of the child, in that order of priority," and with no legal guardian, either parent can act "regardless of filing status." The person named in Form 4547, Part I becomes the responsible party while the child is a minor, choosing investments and any successor. An auto account is different: the regulations let "a person with legal authority to view the account beneficiary's tax information" claim it, and if several people do, the responsible party is "the first person who activates the account." Agree on who claims before either of you opens the app.
Auto-enrolled is not the same as funded
Starting on or about October 1, 2026, Treasury opened an "auto account" for each child it found meeting the age and SSN tests, with periodic rounds for children who qualify later. Under the regulations an auto account "may accept only qualified general contributions," such as an equal deposit funded by a state or charity, plus the $1,000 if someone elected it. Your money and your employer's go in only after a parent claims and activates the account.
The $1,000 is never automatic: "the Secretary cannot make a pilot program election," the regulations say; the IRS Trump Accounts page adds: "You must elect the $1,000 contribution for your child, even if Treasury automatically opened the account."
How to claim the account and elect the $1,000
- Check your child's SSA-issued Social Security card: name and number must match what you enter, with no work-restriction legend.
- Look up whether Treasury already opened an account, in the Trump Accounts app or website linked from trumpaccounts.gov.
- Claim and activate the account in the Trump Accounts app by verifying your identity and authority. An auto-opened account needs no Form 4547 to open.
- File Form 4547 with the pilot box ticked (Part III, line 7) through the app, the website or your IRS Individual Online Account, or with your next e-filed return.
- Answer any Notice CP318 or Treasury letter as it instructs; the IRS Trump Accounts FAQ says not to file Form 1040-X to correct Form 4547.
- Ask HR whether your employer makes section 128 contributions, and keep the year's total within $5,000.
The Trump Accounts help line is 866-USA-4547; IRS customer service representatives "cannot correct your election by phone," the FAQ says.
Worked timeline: a 2026 baby in an H-1B and H-4 household
Take a hypothetical baby born on 2026-03-10 to an H-1B worker and an H-4 spouse who has only an ITIN.
| Date | What happens |
|---|---|
| 2026-03-10 | Baby is born in the US and SSA later issues an SSN |
| 2026-07-04 | First day any contribution, including the $1,000, could reach a Trump Account |
| On or about 2026-10-01 | Treasury's first automatic enrollment; an auto account opens if Treasury found the baby met the age and SSN tests |
| November 2026 | One parent claims the account and files Form 4547 with the pilot box ticked; on Form 4547 the ITIN parent may be the elector, entering the ITIN in Part I |
| After the election | Treasury deposits $1,000 "as soon as practicable" once it confirms the account is open |
| Each calendar year | Up to $5,000 combined from family and any section 128 employer contribution |
| 2043-12-31 | Growth period ends (the year the child turns 17) |
| 2044-01-01 | Most traditional IRA rules apply; early withdrawals can face the section 72(t) 10% additional tax unless an exception (such as higher education or a first home) applies |
Can H-1B parents contribute, and what is the annual limit?
Yes. The Form 4547 instructions allow contributions from "the child, the child's parents, or any other person," and none of the IRS material we read asks the contributor's immigration status. During the growth period, family and employer money together is capped at $5,000 a year per child, inflation-adjusted after 2027.
- No deduction. Section 219 allows none for this after-tax money, and family contributions create basis.
- Employer money. Section 128 lets an employer contribute for an employee's dependent, excluded from income up to $2,500 and counted inside the $5,000. Treasury's employer rules are proposed (91 FR 51611).
- Outside the cap. The $1,000 pilot deposit, qualified general contributions from governments or charities, and rollovers do not count toward the $5,000.
- Investments. Until the growth period ends, funds must track an index of primarily US companies, use no leverage and charge no more than 0.1% a year.
- Locked during the growth period. Money leaves only by rollover (including to the child's ABLE account at 17), excess-contribution correction or death.
Your own return is a separate question: see how H-1B status affects your taxes and 1040 vs 1040-NR for F-1, OPT, H-1B and H-4 filers. The 2026 child tax credit (up to $2,200 per child, $1,700 refundable) follows its own rules. The PRWORA rule on refundable credits (REG-119882-25) is still only proposed (comments closed 2026-10-05, no final rule); it lists the EITC, CTC/ACTC, AOTC and adoption credits, and Trump Accounts are not on that list.
What if we leave the United States?
The account stays the child's, and Form 4547 accepts a foreign address for parent and child. How another country taxes it is a question for a cross-border tax professional there. If the baby is still on the way, see our guide to parental leave on H-1B or OPT.
Common mistakes
- Assuming auto-enrollment means $1,000. Treasury cannot make the pilot election; an eligible adult must file Form 4547.
- Treating your visa as the test. The tests are the child's citizenship, birth year and SSN.
- Borrowing the child tax credit's SSN rule. A parent who is not eligible for an SSN can enter an ITIN on Form 4547.
- Electing twice. One pilot deposit per child; a second election is not needed.
- Going over $5,000. Family and section 128 employer money share one annual limit per child.
- Filing Form 1040-X to fix Form 4547. Follow your CP318 notice, and match names, SSNs and dates of birth to SSA records.
Frequently asked questions
Is my US-born baby eligible for the $1,000 Trump Account deposit?
Yes, if your baby is a US citizen born from January 1, 2025 through December 31, 2028, has a Social Security number valid for employment, and has had no earlier pilot election processed. As of 2026-11-01 the deposit is not automatic. An adult who expects the child to be their qualifying child for the year must elect it on Form 4547, even if Treasury opened the account.
Do parents need an SSN to open a Trump Account?
Not on Form 4547, under the IRS instructions (revised 12/2025). A nonresident or resident alien parent who has no SSN and is not eligible for one enters an IRS individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN) instead. The SSN test that decides eligibility is the child's, and the child's number must be valid for employment and issued before the election. Whether the Trump Accounts app accepts an ITIN is not stated, so ask 866-USA-4547.
Can H-1B parents contribute to a Trump Account?
Yes. The IRS instructions allow contributions from the child, the child's parents or any other person, and nothing in them asks about the contributor's visa. Contributions have been allowed since 2026-07-04, are made with after-tax money and no deduction, and share the $5,000 annual limit with any employer contribution.
What is the annual contribution limit?
The limit is $5,000 a year per child during the growth period, adjusted for inflation for years after 2027, under the temporary regulations effective 2026-09-30. Employer contributions under section 128, which can be excluded from the employee's income up to $2,500, count toward it. The $1,000 pilot deposit, government or charity contributions to a qualified class, and rollovers do not.
Can a child with a green card get the $1,000?
No. As of 2026-11-01 the pilot deposit is limited to US citizens born 2025 through 2028, and a green-card holder is not a citizen. A green-card child under 18 with a Social Security number valid for employment can still have a Trump Account and receive family and employer contributions up to $5,000 a year.
Sources
- Treasury and IRS, Trump Accounts temporary regulations, T.D. 10056, 91 FR 61705 (2026-09-30)
- IRS, Instructions for Form 4547 (revised 12/2025)
- IRS, Trump Accounts and Trump Accounts FAQ (both updated 2026-10-21)
- Treasury, trumpaccounts.gov
- Executive Order 14418, 91 FR 51991 (2026-08-11)
- IRS, Individual Taxpayer Identification Number
- Treasury and IRS, PRWORA refundable-credit proposed rule, REG-119882-25, 91 FR 53812 (2026-08-20)
- Envoy Global, Maryland court blocks enforcement of the new birthright order for a certified class
How we checked this: on 2026-11-01 we read the temporary regulations, the Form 4547 instructions, the IRS Trump Accounts page and FAQ, the IRS ITIN page, the PRWORA proposed rule and EO 14418, and checked every date, dollar figure and quotation against them. We did not test the Trump Accounts app.
This is general information, not legal or tax advice; your SSA card, IRS notices and Treasury letters govern, and a tax professional or immigration attorney should review your family's situation.
A new baby and a sponsored job search at once is a lot. For help with the job-search side, talk to F1Jobs.
Frequently asked questions
Is my US-born baby eligible for the $1,000 Trump Account deposit?
Yes, if your baby is a US citizen born from January 1, 2025 through December 31, 2028, has a Social Security number valid for employment, and has had no earlier pilot election processed. As of 2026-11-01 the deposit is not automatic. An adult who expects the child to be their qualifying child for the year must elect it on Form 4547, even if Treasury opened the account.
Do parents need an SSN to open a Trump Account?
Not on Form 4547, under the IRS instructions (revised 12/2025). A nonresident or resident alien parent who has no SSN and is not eligible for one enters an IRS individual taxpayer identification number (ITIN) instead. The SSN test that decides eligibility is the child's, and the child's number must be valid for employment and issued before the election. Whether the Trump Accounts app accepts an ITIN is not stated, so ask 866-USA-4547.
Can H-1B parents contribute to a Trump Account?
Yes. The IRS instructions allow contributions from the child, the child's parents or any other person, and nothing in them asks about the contributor's visa. Contributions have been allowed since 2026-07-04, are made with after-tax money and no deduction, and share the $5,000 annual limit with any employer contribution.
What is the annual contribution limit?
The limit is $5,000 a year per child during the growth period, adjusted for inflation for years after 2027, under the temporary regulations effective 2026-09-30. Employer contributions under section 128, which can be excluded from the employee's income up to $2,500, count toward it. The $1,000 pilot deposit, government or charity contributions to a qualified class, and rollovers do not.
Can a child with a green card get the $1,000?
No. As of 2026-11-01 the pilot deposit is limited to US citizens born 2025 through 2028, and a green-card holder is not a citizen. A green-card child under 18 with a Social Security number valid for employment can still have a Trump Account and receive family and employer contributions up to $5,000 a year.